RACV Great Australian Rally RACV Great Australian Rally

Great Australian Rally Home

The Great Australian Rally Entrant Information

Great Australian Rally News and Updates

Great Australian Rally Clubs Information

Great Australian Rally trader stalls Info

2019 Great Australian Rally Entrant Brochure

Past Events

How to reach us

Updated on
15 January 2017.

RACV Great Australian Rally 2013

Sunday, 20 January 2013

Rallying For A Cure

The 2013 Great Australian Rally was a complete success.

As a part of the promotion for the event, we were able to run a competition for a ride in an early The Vintage Ventura bus Vintage Ventura bus (Charabanc) to the Mornington display area. The competition was over-subscribed and some consolation prizes were given to those who didn’t quite make it to the actual bus ride.

Right: The Vintage Ventura bus. Photo: Craig Douglas.

Craig Bennett receiving the ABCCC’s donation

Left: Craig Bennett (CEO Peter Mac) receiving the ABCCC’s donation.

The 2013 RACV Great Australian Rally’s success was the result of a considerable amount of work put in by the Rally Advisory Committee. The success was such that we managed to raise $60,000 to hand over to our friends at Peter Mac Cancer Institute. This was done at a ceremony at the RACV Club on 5th March. Present in the photograph above are, left to right, Colin Brown (ABCCC, Rally Organiser), Craig Bennett (Peter Mac CEO), Tony Pettigrew (ABCCC President) and Professor Peter Chandler (President and Chairman of the RACV Board). Also present for this most auspicious occasion were Ron Pittard (Fairfax), Colin Moss (Fairfax), Brian Kelly (RACV), Gordon Oakley (RACV General Manager - Motoring and Mobility), Professor Lester Peters (Peter Mac), from the ABCCC were - Pat Douglas, Ray Higginson, Don Kinsey, Peter McKiernan, Nello Mafodda and Mike Allfrey.

See the article in The Weekly Review with this link or click the thumbnail below...

The 2013 Rally Awards Results were as follows:

Best Veteran
(To 1918)
M. Lethborg 1914 Fiat Roadster Zero
Best Vintage
(1919 to 1929)
L. Grima 1929 Ford Model "A"
Best Early Classic
(1930 to 1940)
C. Osbourne 1936 De Soto Airflow S2 Sedan
Best Late Classic
(1941 to 1981)
J. & M. Pitcon 1958 MGA Roadster
Best Commercial Vehicle R. Whitehead 1959 Chevrolet El Camino Utility
Best Motorcycle A. Edwards 1938 Brough Superior SS80
American Classic J. Watson 1952 Ford Courier Delivery
British Classic B. Smith 1969 Jaguar 420G Saloon
Best Outright S. Bone 1910 Fabrique Nationale De Belge 1560
Fairfax Community Newspaper Group
(Best Club Display)
Triumph Car Club Of Victoria
(Included with this award - the car selected by the Veteran Car Club of Australia (Vic) was be on display in the foyer at the RACV City Club, 501 Bourke Street, Melbourne)


Our Contributing Sponsors
Royal Automobile Club Victoria Organized by the All British Classics Car Club
Sponsored by the RACV
All British Classics Car Club


Web site designed by Bartosh Internet Designs